How to get over a bad day

Hey there!

Here’s a quick break from the blog schedule for this week because I thought sharing these tips is important. This thought came because yesterday I had a pretty bad day.

If you’re a woman and you go through PMS every month, I’m sure you will understand what I’m talking about.

Yes! I had a pretty bad day yesterday. *sigh

I woke up feeling well and ready to have a productive day, I got dressed, had breakfast, read for about 40 minutes and sat at the computer to add my new collection to the Buffet Event at the shop.

All good so far.

Then, I started feeling a bit distracted… I didn’t want to do anything from my to-do list.

*Weird feeling* 

drawing

Not only did I feel resistance to doing the things on my list, but I also had those bad thoughts of self-doubt. Can you relate to any of these thoughts during PMS?… or any other bad day?

* You have to do this, you should to do that…
* Why can’t you just keep doing it? You were feeling good about it before, what changed?
* Why is everything so complicated for you? Everyone else has it all figured out.
* Why can’t you just keep your promises?
* Why did you start it anyway?
* Are you sure you wanna keep doing it?
* Who do you think you are to be doing it?

How can one make any progress having these voices in her head all along the way?

In the past, I used to push and push harder to keep crossing things off of my to-do list and have a usual work day. The outcome was I had most things done or sometimes half done. That’s good for a bad day, huh?

But as the years went by and I became more mindful and intentional about my life, I learned that it’s not always good. Here’s why:

Creating the life you truly wanna live is about
living the life you truly wanna live every day.

I’m always talking about creating the life I truly wanna live. What does that mean? It means that all my decisions now are with the aim of creating the reality I think is beautiful and happy for me with the things and people I love to hang out with.

But first, the most important thing to be aware of about creating is that it happens now, at this very moment. So, I’m creating the reality I aim for while I enjoy the whole process every single day.

That’s what I thought was worth sharing with you:

While having half or most of my to-do list crossed off is good, the feeling of frustration at the end of the day was not compatible. As human beings, our goal in everything we do is cultivating feelings of worthiness, pleasure, and happiness and/or any other positive feelings you consider important. It all boils down to us always wanting to feel good.

Reflect on how your to-do list makes you feel

Crossing off items on the to-do list will only make us feel good at the end of the day when the things on our list are meaningful for us. Tasks for duty’s sake don’t make us feel good. They make us feel nothing if not frustrated. I know I feel totally frustrated, but it has to do with my core values and I’ll be writing about it soon because I just love the subject. The tasks that provide us that feeling of accomplishment are the meaningful ones.

OVER TO YOU: If you’ve never looked at your to-do list with this perspective in mind, I challenge you to take a 5-minute break and reflect about the items you have in your list and also your goals. Ask these questions to each task/goal:

  • Is it valuable?
  • Do I feel like doing it?
  • Why is it important for me?

P.S.: Remember to be honest with yourself. If you don’t feel like doing something, it probably is not as important as you think it is. Sometimes we take someone’s else important stuff as ours, that way we don’t live based on our own values.

Great warning here! When we live up to other people’s expectations for a long period, our life becomes meaningless and we fall into depression.

Be aware of what you resist always persists

An important lesson I learned in the self-growth path I’m walking is that every feeling we resist persists. A couple of years ago, when I was depressed, I used to try to different things: cheering me up or distracting me watching movies and series. Both are ineffective because they were about me resisting to feel what I was feeling. The feeling persisted for days and nothing seemed to get me back in a good mood. It was hard.

Find the reasons underneath the self-doubt and negative feelings

I don’t believe I’m facing depression anymore because most of my days are positive and productive and I’ve been living intentionally every day. It doesn’t mean I don’t face bad days. Yes, I do. What is different now is the way I react. I don’t resist anymore. I take some time off to feel what I am feeling and reflect about the reasons I’m having those feelings. Sometimes I journal, sometimes I draw intuitively while listening to mantras so I can express my feelings through art, sometimes I meditate… these work very well for me.

Any way you choose to reflect and reveal the real reasons for the negative feelings about yourself, it is important to find a quiet place and calm your mind before starting. Breathing deeply helps to calm down and concentrate.

 Take time off to do what makes you happy

Yesterday, instead of pushing me to do as many tasks as I could. I took a quick look at my daily schedule and did two that I knew were priorities I couldn’t just pretend they didn’t exist. After that, I gave myself permission to do whatever I felt like to.

This time, I didn’t need to reflect about what I was feeling because I know these are usual feelings of PMS and I just need to go through the day and I’ll be ok. So, instead of journaling or reflecting I chose something that would make me feel really good.

I drew a lot! I love drawing and I know I need to practice to become the artist I wanna become. However, I don’t give myself much time to draw because I have a pretty busy schedule. I usually draw to illustrate posts or to add to my vision board, but I almost never draw for my pleasure only.

drawing2

Accept that it is not a great day… and that’s ok

I’m addicted to making progress, but I learned to accept that some days are not as good as others while some are extraordinary. This is the Universe balance, we would never identify a day as extraordinary if we never experienced a bad day.

Remember this is only ONE day in a life-time period. At the end, it will have no impact on the big picture of your living.

Be patient and persistent

Today is a new day. I woke up feeling much more positive than I was yesterday. I won’t lie and say I’m feeling energized and vibrant. I’m not. But I’m feeling much better and I’ll focus on the priorities and things that I feel more motivated to do because I know that if I’m patient and keep doing what makes me feel better everything will get back on track in a few days and the negative thoughts will be in the past and won’t matter anymore.

And here you are. I hope you find it useful and it can help you create more intention and peace in your living.

blog-showlove

If you like this post, help me touch others
by pinning the images above and sharing with other
creative women who could benefit from it.
Thanks so much.

Remember to sign up for my newsletter to get the latest from the blog and the shop and all positive vibes I can send your way. Besides that, you’ll also get a quick guide to choosing your word of the year. Subscribe here.

Leave a Reply

