New Year for a Better Me: 7 Days of Review | Day Four

Lisa Jacobs hosts a seven-day review series* on Marketing Creativity. This review process is derived from her book – Your Best Year 2017 – which I bought as soon as she launched after using the previous edition which I loved. The 2017 edition is even better than the previous one and I truly recommend using it if you are running a creative business online.

I responded to the prompts in a self-paced way back in November. I’m glad Lisa is careful enough to add her own responses as examples in the book, it helped a lot. As I decided to share my goals for this year here on the blog, instead of writing a post with my resolutions I thought it would be a good idea to share my whole review with you, following Lisa’s series.

As I said before, it’s a seven-day review and I am writing seven posts however, they won’t be posted daily, I am posting them as soon as I write. If you haven’t set your goals yet, I hope that seeing my answers or visiting Lisa’s blog and seeing her answers might help you set your goals.

Read Day 1
Read Day 2
Read Day 3

nyfabm4_post
Quote by Azure Antoinette

Today, we’re going to set intentional goals for 2017. I really like how Lisa challenges us to think of what will take us out of our comfort zone. You’re gonna notice some of the questions Lisa asks are focused on the business because her book is tailor made for that but I think we can benefit more from the questions and plan our personal life, too. That’s why you’re gonna see a mix of business and personal goals and intentions. Here are my answers.

Choose a direction 2017

What would you do in 2017 if you knew you could not fail?

  • Blog consistently and find ways of making money with it
  • Start a podcast to share what I learned and what is working for me on self-growth, planning and goal-setting (and achieving, of course)
  • Become a Creative Life & Productivity Coach
  • Open Just Because Studio shop at Etsy and sell printable art and planning tools*
  • Create a planner (printable and physical offer)
  • Hire an employee living in the USA to handle shipping of physical products (or find a cheaper, faster or easier way to ship internationally)
  • Lose 27 pounds
  • Become a vegetarian
  • Save money to live abroad in 2 or 3 years.

*Etsy Shop opened.

What are some things you could be doing that you’ve been too afraid to try? How can you stretch your comfort zone?

Despite knowing I need to invest in education and services to grow my business and pivot it into what I vision, I’ve been too afraid to spend the money because I didn’t have any savings.

Last October, when Tiffany Han opened her coaching program named 100 Rejection Letters for registration I decided to take a leap of faith and trust myself and my business to provide and enrolled.

I noticed that my plans for 2017 started even before I started planning on paper. I shared on the post about my word of the year that I felt like I was ready to start fresh and choose a new word in October and I believe it was happening also in other areas. Enrolling for Tiffany’s program was a great way to stretch my comfort zone. I’ve been making good progress with my business, overcoming fears and believing in my talents and strengths.

So, I’m very focused on making the best I can with the program.

What have you been struggling with for entirely too long?

Not feeling I’m enough. I always think I’m slow, distracted, not talented, not worthy and that’s why I cannot have what I want or be who I wanna be.

My new word of the year was chosen to help me work on this.

What could you outsource, delegate, automate, and/or stop doing in 2017?

I’m going to outsource extra money going back to school to teach some groups for six months.

I’ll delegate house chores to a home cleaner as soon as I can afford to pay her. This will free me up to dedicate to what I love – my family, my business, my hobbies.

I’m going to automate… well, I’m not sure yet because I need to learn a bit more about the ways I can automate. So, I will search about automation.

Again, this happened before planning… I decided to stop selling in two shops and I’m an exclusive designer at GingerScraps since last October.

In what ways and which areas will you “upgrade” your life?

I’m going to upgrade my business following the lessons from the 100RL.

I’m going to upgrade my health by following the nutritionist recommendations.

I’m going to upgrade my confidence in my image with meditation and my word of the year plus being more careful with my body and outfits. No more working on pajamas. *grin

I’m going to upgrade our family finances by budgeting for paying off debts.

I wanna end 2017 feeling more successful as a mother, wife and creative business owner.

And here’s day four of the review. I’m very excited about sharing my goal-setting because I can review it and become more confident about the things I want while I write the posts. I’ll be posting day 5 with a new list of prompts + my answers. We’re gonna talk about time management, a topic I love so much.

*Lisa’s series is called New Year For A New You, however I don’t like the idea of thinking of me as a new person, I’m always looking for becoming a better version of myself, opening up for my core values and truth. That’s why I changed the name for New Year For A Better Me.

nyfabm4_pin

blog-showlove

If you like this post, help me touch others
by pinning the images above and sharing with other
creative women who could benefit from it.
Thanks so much.

Remember to sign up for my newsletter to get the latest from the blog and the shop and all positive vibes I can send your way. Besides that, you’ll also get a quick guide to choosing your word of the year. Subscribe here.

Leave a Reply

