New Year for a Better Me: 7 days of Review | Day Two

Lisa Jacobs hosts a seven-day review series* on Marketing Creativity. This review process is derived from her book – Your Best Year 2017 – which I bought as soon as she launched after using the previous edition which I loved. The 2017 edition is even better than the previous one and I truly recommend using it if you are running a creative business online.

I responded to the prompts in a self-paced way back in November. I’m glad Lisa is careful enough to add her own responses as examples in the book, it helped a lot. As I decided to share my goals for this year here on the blog, instead of writing a post with my resolutions I thought it would be a good idea to share my whole review with you, following Lisa’s series.

As I said before, it’s a seven-day review and I am writing seven posts, however they won’t be posted daily, I am posting them as soon as I write. If you haven’t set your goals yet, I hope that seeing my answers or visiting Lisa’s blog and seeing her answers might help you set your goals.

Read Day One Review here.

nybm-day2

Now, let’s jump in the prompts of Day 2. This time, we are gonna reflect on the challenges and what didn’t work in 2016. Here are the 10 questions and my answers.

What was time wasted this year?

  • when I worried about things that didn’t even happen (and I’m not sure will ever happen) or overthink what I’d like to start doing
  • when I stress over silly things my husband and daughter do/say

What was money wasted this year?

  • eating out and deliveries – they are unhealthy, expensive and don’t bring me that much pleasure. I’d rather use this money to travel or buy things that will make me happy.

What was the biggest challenge you faced this year?

  • using my energy the best way to make things happen instead of overthinking and keeping all the active energy inside harming my mental health
  • saving money
  • losing weight and eating healthier – shifting bad habits into health habits
  • Being consistent in rituals that make me feel good

If anything, what would you change about how you handled that challenge?

  • I would stop worrying and overthinking and start doing more
  • I would follow my intuition

Are you ending the year with any unfinished business?

  • Healthy habits
  • Energy Rituals

Are there any outstanding goals you’d like to let go of?

I wouldn’t call it letting go, I’m actually changing directions in my business so my revenue goal is also going to change.

What was your worst setback in 2016?

I didn’t dedicate enough to creating healthy habits. I focused on my emotional health with therapy and rituals and it paid off, so I know I’m on the right path. Besides that, I made some changes to my eating habits, so I’m building it slowly.

Which bad habits or unhealthy patterns did you engage in that you’d like to give up once and for all?

  • drinking coke
  • sedentary lifestyle
  • smoking sporadically
  • not knowing how to deal with fear, stress and anxiety

What or whom held you back this year? Did anything make you shrink into yourself or feel defensive about your dreams?

My answers to this question were all moved to the next question because I can’t recall anybody or anything that held me back, all that held me back were my own fears and behaviors.

How did you hold yourself back this year? Which beliefs | ideas | excuses stopped you from pushing forward?

I didn’t believe my in strengths and talents and that makes me not start great projects I have in mind. I was too afraid of failure and criticism, my inner critic was too strong. It made me focus on details and not on the important stuff. Another thing that held me back was trying to control my family and stressing out about them not doing what I expected them too.

And here’s day two of the review. I’ll be posting day 3 with a new list of prompts + my answers. All this review will lead us to my resolutions for 2017.

*Lisa’s series is called New Year For A New You, however I don’t like the idea of thinking of me as a new person, I’m always looking for becoming a better version of myself, opening up for my core values and truth. That’s why I changed the name for New Year For A Better Me.

blog-showlove

If you like this post, help me touch others
by pinning the images above and sharing with other
creative women who could benefit from it.
Thanks so much.

Remember to sign up for my newsletter to get the latest from the blog and the shop and all positive vibes I can send your way. Besides that, you’ll also get a quick guide to choosing your word of the year. Subscribe here.

9 thoughts on “New Year for a Better Me: 7 days of Review | Day Two

  1. Pingback: January Recap and February Goals | Dani Alencar | Just Because Studio

  2. Pingback: New Year for a Better Me – 7 days of Review | Day Six | Dani Alencar | Just Because Studio

  3. Pingback: New Year for a Better Me – 7 Days of Review | Day Five | Dani Alencar | Just Because Studio

  4. Pingback: New Year for a Better Me: 7 Days of Review | Day Four | Dani Alencar | Just Because Studio

  5. Pingback: New Year for a Better Me: 7 days of review | Day Three | Dani Alencar | Just Because Studio

    • Hi, LaShawn. What is helping me out is following my word of the year: Trust. I’m trusting my ideas and decisions and if I start having a lot of thoughts about a decision I made I just say “it’s not time to worry about it, just do it one step at a time”. Then I focus only on the next step and then the next and then the next… it’s been freeing and much more productive.

      Like

Leave a Reply

